, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Yeah. That was a good show. Honorable mention to the fans who kept projectiles away from the band, And nice to see glow stick action again- lets bring our A game tomorrow. As for the music, well, you saw/heard it. Straight up heater. Was great to see Mike take the initial lead on encore, w/ two more for good measure. The boys connected on all levels tonight; This is a great place to be as a band and as a fan. Yeah.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent Couch toured and well...wow what a show, getting really excited for AC! Really enjoyed it from start to finish. I love a Moma opener and in fact the song choices of both sets were impeccable. I love the new tunes like Sigma Oasis (despite the ironic lyrics) and Evening Song so I would never see those as detractors and so from beginning to end I'd be cheering. First set highlight for me was the opener thru Ghost. I am digging our 2021 Phish they are swinging for the fences and the tones and a effects are cool spacey and "futuristic" (see Fuego from the other night), the Ghost added some of those tones but is a blast of trilling bliss and then Driver...c'mon. First set boded (baded?....bodes!? it's bodes)...well anyway the second set had high expectations and well...yeah they brought it. Have I mentioned this was the second show back after being off for a year and half...so um yeah, this momentum is full steam. The second set like the first was a damn delight. The Carini is explosive and just rips a donut size hole in the middle of the set with Martian Monster and Golden Age. I love Mountain in the friggin Myst (Myst was so good so quick shout out) and then Blaze can either be a cool down, a scorcher or a black hole. This one played a quick romp into my favorite set closer Harry Hood. Hood like Slave and pizza its always good and this one delivers in turn. Fun encore and a fun night! Can't wait to see what show #3 brings.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent Couch toured and well...wow what a show, getting really excited for AC! Really enjoyed it from start to finish. I love a Moma opener and in fact the song choices of both sets were impeccable. I love the new tunes like Sigma Oasis (despite the ironic lyrics) and Evening Song so I would never see those as detractors and so from beginning to end I'd be cheering. First set highlight for me was the opener thru Ghost. I am digging our 2021 Phish they are swinging for the fences and the tones and a effects are cool spacey and "futuristic" (see Fuego from the other night), the Ghost added some of those tones but is a blast of trilling bliss and then Driver...c'mon. First set boded (baded?....bodes!? it's bodes)...well anyway the second set had high expectations and well...yeah they brought it. Have I mentioned this was the second show back after being off for a year and half...so um yeah, this momentum is full steam. The second set like the first was a damn delight. The Carini is explosive and just rips a donut size hole in the middle of the set with Martian Monster and Golden Age. I love Mountain in the friggin Myst (Myst was so good so quick shout out) and then Blaze can either be a cool down, a scorcher or a black hole. This one played a quick romp into my favorite set closer Harry Hood. Hood like Slave and pizza its always good and this one delivers in turn. Fun encore and a fun night! Can't wait to see what show #3 brings.
, attached to 2021-07-30

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Amazing show, amazing Carini but also really the whole night was superb. A full show from top to bottom. Golden Age into Mountains of the Mist was really great, and so was the Hood. Seemed like every song or every pair had a story to it. Loved the reggae Yarmouth in the encore as well as the new Gumbo format, and then of course a great Zero closer. What a fucking show lol, you love to see it
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Outlive

Outlive [b]Phish Is Back and Trey Would Like a Word with All of You[/b] The day before my 6-year Phishiversary I was able to catch Phish’s first-ever show in Arkansas for my 26th show overall, a milestone I had hoped to reach last year, but, well, we all know what happened. And, yeah, about that. Trey’s got something to say to you. And me. And, apparently, to Sara Huckabee Sanders. This show actually reminded me a lot of my very first show. With me in attendance was my wife (who was not with me for my first show; this was her 23rd show overall) and my buddy who got me into the band in 2015 (after multiple attempts to convert me in the preceding years) (who was there with me at my first show. And he brought his 19-year-old daughter for her first show (who dug it!)). He is a true ambassador for Phish Nation. We arrived early (about 4:00 PM) to do Shakedown. My wife found a great pair of earrings and pendant from a purveyor of wares we have frequented on tours past (@lilydrivestoofast on Insta—give her a follow and check out her tent on tour). My wife was so happy, at least until the sun started baking her to a crisp (she is actually allergic to heat, and it was brutal. Hottest of my 26 shows (though Austin 2018 is a close second). She suffered through, enjoyed the music, but is still hurting today. Such are the sacrifices of a true fan (though she tells me this is the last outdoor summer show she will do (other than Dick's)). You know what that means: hello NYE run! The venue was OK. Not too much trouble getting in. No real hassles with security. Ushers (in our area, anyway) were friendly and reasonable. We had a bunch of aisle dancers next to us, and they were a blast to watch. The concession choices sucked, the lines got long after about 6:45, but the folks running the concession stands were among the friendliest I have encountered anywhere. We were hoping that having seats would keep us out of the sun, but the way the venue is configured, that didn't really work out (to my wife's dismay). I avoided alcohol, and was drinking water as fast as possible, with multiple trips to the water-fountain or concession line to refill and replenish. But it was hard to stay hydrated, especially as I was rolling on both Delta 8 and classic gummies, which kept the thirst-meter pegged at an unquenchable 11 all evening. Crowd energy did not disappoint, though the oppressive heat had to dampen the reaction compared to what it might have been had we been enjoying cooler temps. The crowd went nuts when the band took the stage. I got chills and bumps and maybe a few tears welled in my eyes. It would not be the only time that would happen. My first impression, given the setlist (in which we essentially were treated to “two first sets” with no “monster jams”) was that this would be one of those shows that would be much better in person than listening back. One of my favorite things about going to shows in person as opposed to listening on headphones or whatever is that certain songs I never listen to are really a lot of fun at the show (I'm looking at you NICU and Fuego). I'm a terrible dancer and actually enjoy standing fairly still as I lose myself in the music. But I love watching people who can really dance get down to the danceable tunes. One of my favorite things about a Phish show--seeing all that joy being expressed is such a beautiful buzz. This was a very live-audience-friendly show. And since I was so fortunate, blessed, privileged, and beyond grateful to be numbered among those in attendance, I enjoyed it thoroughly, and I will never, ever take for granted the wonderful gift of live music generally and Phish concerts in particular. But as much as I enjoyed the surrounding atmosphere, I have since discovered in listening back the last two days that this show actually sounds even better in the recording than it did in the venue (for me). There were no big, long jams. But there was plenty of jamming. Was it a “rager?” Not really. Any jams that will make it into the JOTY Final Four six months from now? Highly doubtful (though maybe Wolfman’s will get into the tourney). Were the vocals hit-or-miss? Yup (but, honestly, when is that not the case, really?). Was there rust? Sure, a little, but not nearly as much as some are suggesting, and to my ear they were more in sync than in many other tour openers of recent years past. Yeah, there were some flubs (Bouncing was sub-par; the first three minutes of Free were a little rough; Fuego had some issues; the laugh/cough samples from Fishman in Slave were jarring). But overall, the play was tight, the band was clearly having a blast and was happy to be there (one of them said at the end of Slave, “Oh my god, it’s good to play again.”); there were some interesting and novel new jamming sounds, and Trey’s new guitar tone is simply glorious. I cannot wait to hear what he does with that over the course of the year. I really liked the new light rig with the angled running lights and rainbow of colors, and CK made good use of the canopy ceiling (is ceiling the right word?) covering the pavilion. I'm really looking forward to what he has in store for us as tour goes on. I’m sure he has many tricks up his sleeve. There were times when the light combinations seemed to create an almost three-dimensional sphere around the band members on stage. It was truly spectacular. Trey’s guitar tone, Mike’s grooving, Kuroda’s lights, Fish’s excitement, Page’s moody keys, the band’s love for the fans and appreciation for the gift they have in being able to go out on the road again—all these things bode very well for not only the rest of summer tour, but the whole year. The show is an auspicious sign of things to come. In the context of when and where this show was played (and even who was in attendance) and all we have been through the last 18 months, this was quite a remarkable show. I believe this show will long be remembered, and it will grow in esteem as time marches on (bucking the usual trend of an initial flurry of high marks followed by inevitable decline). I think it will age well. And part of the reason for that is this: lurking beneath what on the surface appears to be a prototypical “3.0 show” that looks like it might have been churned out by an algorithm that was fed all the setlists from the last 7 years, there is a clear and consistent (alternatingly subtle and, um, not-so-subtle) message from Trey. Yes, he wants us to know he loves. Yes, he is glad to be back and happy to see us. But, goddammit, he wants us all to stop fighting and start treating each other with equanimity. And he wants us to ne smart. He is gently telling the few of us who are still not with the program to quit being knuckleheads and follow the science, get vaccinated, and wear a fucking mask already. He also has some criticism for those who are continuing to divide us, continuing to harm the body politic, and continuing to resist the message of peace, love, and understanding. Trey’s looking at you, Sarah Sanders! How do I know this? Well, he told us. In virtually every song the band played. Each song is like the piece of a mosaic which, when put together, forms an image, the message of which is clear. Let’s go song by song and we will see that this show was equal to far more than the sum of its parts. 1. [b]I Never Need You Like This Before.[/b] This one is obvious. Trey is pleading with us to not continue to let the twin diseases of Covid and hyper-partisanship divide and conquer us: [i]“There's something in this silent wood That won't, although I know it could, Ensnare us in a veil so black We'd never find the passage back.” [/i]Oh, and also, he loves us and missed us, and is glad to be back because if had to make one more dumb Youtube video from his house with his cat he’d go nuts. (For Trey’s wonderful tone, check out the 2:51-3:30 range). 2. [b]Tube[/b]. [i]“give myself to science, I felt that it could help.”[/i] Hear that, anti-maskers? Anti-vaxxers? Science. It can help if you’ll give yourself to it. Try it. Please. It’s [i]“stupendous, living in this tube.”[/i] So let’s not fuck it up, OK? We’re almost to the goal line. Let’s not fumble this. Get vaxxed already. Yeesh. That’s what Trey is saying. (For Trey’s tone, check out 2:38 to 5:49—it’s like melted butter). 3. [b]Free[/b]. A song to express what we all feel—the joy of feeling the feeling we forgot for the first time in ages. This was the first time after the band started playing that the goosebumps hit and the tears welled up. But it would not be the last. The crowd sang that particular line with a little extra mustard each time. 4. [b]Bouncing[/b]. Always a good pairing with Free. Again referencing how good it is to be back together again: [i]“that time then, and once again, I’m bouncing round the room.” [/i]The crowd picked up on this reference and sang this part with gusto. 5. [b]46 Days[/b]. [i]“sit yourself down when you’re ready to stay”[/i] but also [i]“taste the fear for the devil’s drawing near.”[/i] A perfect encapsulation of the current moment: the joy we feel at being together again because of the miracle of modern science giving us the vaccine, but also the warning that the present moment is tenuous. Let’s not fuck this up, mmkay? (Second nice little jam of the night. Check out the 4:00-7:00 segment for the highlights). 6. [b]Limb by Limb[/b]. [i]“I never want a hacking cough.” [/i]Yeah, me neither. Any initially skeptical readers still have doubts that Trey is using the setlist to send a message? Oh, and we get our first dig at Sarah Huckabee Sanders and those of like mind: “[i]Left is where I always turn.”[/i] Heh. (Trey’s tone is just so gorgeous in this song, which may become my favorite LxL ever. I had an out-of-body experience as my gummies really kicked in. Check out 3:17-7:00, especially 6:17-6:55. Just glorious). 7. [b]Wolfman’s Brother[/b]. If things are gonna get better, there’s gotta be some big changes. From all of us (but some more than others). Not little changes. A complete metamorphosis is required. And what better symbol of metamorphosis than the Wolfman (yeah, yeah, I know. Butterflies. But Phish does not have a song called Butterfly’s Brother, so this was the next best thing). Song of the night. Early JOTY tournament contender. Check out 3:50 to, well, the end, with one ridiculous note in the 8:40-9:00 range). 8. [b]NICU[/b]. How many stories have we been subjected to over the last 18 months about hospital ICUs? And now with Delta variant, NICUs are starting to overflow in certain areas: [i]“nice evening at home I dread even more”[/i] (could Trey be telling us he really, really didn’t like being holed up in his NYC apartment all that time? I think so, yes). [i]“Would you please make clear to me I’m peering through your opacity Though you rehearse tomorrow’s verse Forgive me if I don’t sing in your key.”[/i] Another dig at the folks who are “opaque” to facts or reason. Another dig at Huckabee? Perhaps. 9. [b]Drift While You’re Sleeping[/b]. As we all know, this is a song about losing loved ones, and how we deal with the aftermath of that trauma. 4.2 million people have died of Covid worldwide since the pandemic began 18 months ago (probably more: does anyone think China has only lost 4,000 to the virus?). Here Trey implores us to [i]“turn the page”[/i] from the wars we wage while giving us a nod to the terrible heat we are suffering through with “the sun feels warm and that heat there is truth. And he strikes a hopeful chord at the end: [i]“love will carry us through.”[/i] (Check out Trey’s tone at 3:10-4:50; 8:42-9:10, and 9:29-11:25 (chillbump alert!)) 10. [b]Down with Disease[/b]. Boo disease! Boo! [i]“Nothing I can say to make it stop.”[/i] It has certainly felt that way at times, hasn’t it? So what’s the answer? 11. [b]Simple[/b]. D’uh. This ain’t that hard, folks. When confronted with a plague, perhaps you should try avoiding it like, I don’t know, the plague? Another message for the thickheaded numbskulls who haven’t quite figured it out yet. Get vaxxed, etc. Quit being a dumbass. This is pretty simple stuff, actually. (Trey’s tone from 4:00-9:45 is just wonderful. The DwD>Simple part of the show is certainly a highlight) 12. [b]Fuego[/b]. Definitely a nod to the heat of the evening. But also there is this: [i]“I see guilty people, angels blowing horns.” [/i]Perhaps he spotted Sanders in the crowd? Or perhaps he is simply lamenting the massive loss of life and the accompanying “angels blowing horns” to welcome them to their eternal rest. 13. [b]Plasma[/b]. Another Covid-laden title, as plasma has been used to treat Covid patients. I think Trey really hated being cooped up for so long, as did so many of us (I didn’t leave my house but maybe ten times in over a year. [i]“No matter how you slice your day or dream of places far away or try to set your world apart You always end up where you start.”[/i] If that doesn’t describe the frustration of every day being like the movie Groundhog Day while I was working from home in my PJs in that lost year, I don’t know what does. From the history of this song on this site: “Plasma is apparently a conversation of sorts (perhaps between Tom Marshall and Scott Hermann) with one voice taking the view that people don’t change despite their best efforts, and the other expressing a belief in personal evolution.” Sense a theme here yet? 14.[b] Runaway Jim[/b]. Another song about loss (obliquely)—this time the loss of a beloved dog. Trey’s [i]“singing for Jim who’s swimming in the fountain” [/i]which can be heard as another metaphorical elegy for the many souls we have lost in the last 18 months. 15. Weekapaug Groove. OK, I admit I’ve got nothing on this one. Other than it was really cool to get a ‘paug on its own, unattached to Mike’s Song. Do we call this Runaway Groove or Weekapaug Jim? I’m gonna go with the former. 16. [b]Rift[/b]. Ok, here we go. Rift in a prime second-set slot. That ain’t no accident or coincidence. [i]“Through which I could spy several glimpses beneath Of the darkness the light from above could not reach I spied wings of reason, herself taking flight And upon yonder precipice saw her alight And glared back at me one last look of dismay As if she were the last one she thought I'd betray”[/i] A clear-eyed observation of the lunatic fringe that emerged over the last 18 months—the Covidiotic death cultists who abandoned reason and covered the land in darkness, seemingly completely impervious to the light of reason. [i]”And silence contagious in moments like these.”[/i] Did someone say contagious? [i]“And shocked and persuaded my soul to ignite.” [/i]All reasonable people have been shocked by what we’ve witnessed during the last few years and the last six months in particular from the mouth=-breathing dipshits who have exalted stupidity above science and reactionary recalcitrance above reason. The inclusion of this song can also be viewed as the band’s lamentation on the “rifts” that we’ve all seen and felt in our communities, our families, and yes, even in our “phamily.” In retrospect, Rift might be the most powerful song of the night—and its placement in the center of the second set seems designed to emphasize the centrality of the message. 17. [b]If I Could[/b]. A song Trey wrote for a close friend who was struggling and who Trey wanted to cheer up. It’s especially poignant in the context of this show, as it perfectly captures the yearning and longing for normality we felt during the pandemic. How often did we want someone to just take us to another place, to get out into the whispering breezes. And how often did we have to say to ourselves and our loved ones during this time [i]“if I could I would, but I don’t know how.”[/i] I think, in particular, of the health-care workers to whom we owe such a debt of gratitude. How often have they felt the plaintive longing to be somewhere other than the hellscape that was their day-to-day existence during this pandemic? (Check out Trey’s tone from 4:45-end) 18. [b]Rise/Come Together[/b]. Another dig at Sanders. Or at least the people who are tearing us apart with lies, disinformation, and sowing seeds of discord and division. In case the more subtle approach had gone over some heads, Trey decides to apply a more direct approach, bopping us over the head with the message. This one actually sounds a lot better to me on re-listen than the night of the show. (Beautiful Trey tones from 3:45-5:00). 19. [b]Slave to the Traffic Light[/b]. A final nod to what we have all been going through collectively. The traffic light is perfect metaphor for the two steps forward, one step back we’ve had to endure. The desire to just move forward with total freedom and abandon, but not being able to because, well, reality has a way of halting our progress, forcing us to stop and start, then stop again. It’s frustrating. But you know what makes it less frustrating? Blissy jams! And Fishman’s nonsense! Both of which can be found in this beautiful set-ender. 20. [b]Say it to Me S.A.N.T.O.S.[/b] Another nod to the rifts that have developed with [i]“we are divided.[/i]” But also: [i]“You’ll always remember where you were.”[/i] This is true of the first time I saw this song live on 10/31/18. And it’s true of this one as well. No lies to be found here. I will always, always remember this night. I have seen hundreds of live shows over the last forty years all across America. Live music has been a ginormous part of my life. Having no live in-person concerts the last 18 months has taken a toll on my mental health (though, of course, I realize that I am privileged and fortunate in so many ways to have not suffered much more in so many other ways, as so many others have). Finally, one last nod to those we have lost: [i]"Like everyone else, you will always be remembered, even life itself.”[/i] What a beautiful, artful, cohesive, brilliantly designed and executed show. Bottom line: Every live show is a gift to be cherished. And this one is certainly no exception to that rule.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by timber02

timber02 Just to touch on the Simple -> Fuego in this show, which IMO was the highlight (DWD included). Simple trudges deep into the sludge and confusion, harkening back to when phish was evil. The jam kind of took me by surprise, and I think they kind of let their curiosity take the wheel in either an aggressive act of shaking off the cobwebs or purely from excitement to just be playing again. "Hey guys, we're back. No rules on this one, let's get weird." Flowed a little chunky into Fuego, and the emphasis is really on chunky here. This thing kicks off pretty unusually without much adherence to how Fuego "should sound." Expect some wonky tones and spooky sounds coming from mike and page, complete with a good ol' wailin' fishman. The breakdown leading into trey's solo has an overall dark undertone, and the solo that followed matched the mood. Again, leaning back into the chunk (maybe some slop) on entering the jam-field after the girl began levitating. I really enjoyed where this one went with trey coming in with big psychedelic vibes - I don't know what that switch he flips is or pedal maybe, but it goes totally "I'm only sleeping" or "strawberry fields forever" and blew me away in the moment. Some nice little pockets of bliss/world-spiraling confusion here to be enjoyed/feared. Moves right on into plasma here, which I personally like a cool-off song. I would be remiss if I didn't at least mention the Jimapaug which was just fun all around and should not be missed if you haven't given it a spin yet. I hope we get a real monster Jim this summer. That would be sweet. Anyway, a decent start off to the tour - I must agree with a previous poster, 3.7 would be my vote given the option. It's going to be great to have some new jams again to listen to with a critical ear. Gotta keep those muscles strong. Can't really comment on the vibe of the show in-person as I was planted on the couch, but I just wish we could've had the joyous reunion we deserved without all the loss and sickness looming overhead. Stay safe out there everybody.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by DanthePhan42

DanthePhan42 A solid show at a great venue. My friend and I both hung out in the convention center parking lot prior to the show to explore the small shakedown and what it had to offer. It was his first Phish show and both of our first times hitting shakedown. After meeting some great folks and a few .netters we decided to get in sooner rather than later to get a solid spot on the lawn. Very comfortable lawn at a good angle with plenty of space to boogie. The first set started off a bit underwhelming. I liked the opener but felt something with more energy would've really kicked things off right. Could've done without Bouncing, my buddy on the other hand loves that song and was thrilled it was played. All in all a good first set. Second set was great. DWD to start off was awesome and to follow it with Simple? Fantastic. Fuego was jammed out well and the Runaway Jim->Weekapaug->Runaway Jim was insane, and no Mike's?! Cool little setlist rarity. The Rift was played much better than expected, and fast too. The Slave to finish the set was great, was really hoping to catch that song. Encore seemed underwhelming, like it could've gone longer. A solid show with some great classics and good jams, but definitely not five stars. The energy of the crowd and anticipation to see the band play really made this show something special. Really glad and thankful I was able to make it.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Do bubbles carry covid? Maybe. Did phish rock out at this show? Absolutely. The boys did exactly what they were supposed to do… deliver a solid performance after a 17 month band interruption. Great song selection, trey has a nice newer sound and peddle(?), and rust was minimal, all things considered. Amazing crowd & energy the always boosts a show rating imho. Impressed on how many people I met that flew in for this one show; Ain’t no easy flights into Rogers. They tried to go deep in the second set and couldn’t get there, still sounded good tho. Body language suggests covid announcement and precautions might be on their minds. For sure let’s not throw things on stage, boys need to stay healthy and seems that made them a bit uncomfortable. A lot of shows ahead of us!
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by johnnyd

johnnyd [b]Rift, If I Could, Rise Up Come Together[/b] Did anyone here observe (or see/hear in the show thread/laht or elsewhere) ... to me this was clarion-clear their "political" (societal?) statement for the evening. Rift was such a weird call in that slot. If I Could even weirder to follow. Then Rise Up totally pulled the room together as a 3 song suite. They know the country and even the fanbase is in a massive rift. They wish they could do something to fix it, but really don't know how. But Rise Up Come Together is the best plea they've got. Basically Gamehendge Part 2. That's my story, I'm sticking to it.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by bakersdozen

bakersdozen I came down from Vermont for the first four shows of the run. Southern phans are always very accommodating folks and are great to see shows with. The show itself was awesome for a tour opener. The first set got the crowd going, vibes were particularly high when the band broke out Bouncing Around the room after solid renditions of Tube and Free. However, the highlight of the first set was a particularly groovy Wolfman's. Second set got off to a hot start with the highly anticipated Disease, followed by a solid Simple, then an dark jammed out Fuego (Make Phish Evil Again). Plasma was a pleasant surprise and the Runaway Groove had the crowd excited and ready for more. After the Runaway Groove, I felt like the band lost the crowd (or at least me) a little bit. I'm all for changing it up in the second set and having a song that reset's the energy. However, I do get disappointed when the band plays two or three lower energy songs in a row - especially when they were on fire at the beginning of the set. Rift > If I could > Rise just doesn't do it for me. This second set digression reminded me a lot of the Bangor show on [url=https://phish.net/setlists/phish-june-26-2019-darlings-waterfront-pavilion-bangor-me-usa.html]6/26/2019[/url] where the band was off to a similarly hot start then broke into Caspian->Farmhouse->Number line. FWIW, Caspian is a favorite of mine, but not when it's followed by two other lower energy songs, but I digress, much like the band did. Finally, the Slave to the Traffic Light set closer followed by the Santos Encore brought the crowd back into it. Based on the scoring, it was somewhat too little too late to make this one of the great shows. All that said, the band sounds great for having taken more than a year off. I think the shows where the setlists are stronger have the potential to be some solid shows. Looking forward to seeing them through Alpharetta!
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Couch toured for the opener with very little expectations (any tour opener I am not expecting a perfect show, especially one with a 16 month gap in between) That being said, I did think this show was solid. Didn't hear many flubs and the energy was there. Highlights of the first set include the Wolfman's and Limb by Limb. On to the second set, which everyone and their mother called the opener correctly - Down With Disease. I can honestly say I enjoyed this version and the jam... a great start to the 2nd half of this one. During the middle of the jam, I found myself laughing off any notions I had of rust. The band seems ready for this tour. Was cool to hear "If I Could" but I certainly didn't understand the late 2nd set "Rift" This show is worth a 3.7 and if you're putting context into play it's a 4 star affair.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by emkeyone

emkeyone I think there is a tendency to under appreciate tour opening shows. The current ratings on this show support that theory. Was it one for the ages? Only in context, but it was still very good. The first set was solid with a good mixture of older and newer material. The second set is where things got interesting. Lots of segues and a really weird/cool rendition of Fuego were highlights. The opening songs in both sets sent some fairly clear messages as well, as did some of the other song selections. I think this show will grow on people with a second listen.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Lambo_Lambo

Lambo_Lambo *On the couch until Atlantic City* The band takes the stage and takes it all in. Those few extra seconds of them gazing at the crowd was a nice way to say "welcome back, we've missed you." This is a nice opening for "I Never Needed You Like This Before" which for me is one of the standout new Trey tracks. I'm a big fan of that hard opening riff. "Tube" nearly gets to "Did they jam out tube?" territory much like 12/1/19 with Trey quietly using the POG and Wah. A nice first set "Free" leads to a cute "Bouncing" and a heavy "46 Days." Fishman takes the lead on "Limb By Limb," ending with a "blahblahblahblah." "Wolfman's absolutely soars. You can tell the band has as much fun exploring that jam as we do hearing it. I'm always here for a "NICU." I think the audience and band are fully ready for "DWYS" to become a regular first set closer. After the past year and a half, those lyrics are hitting different. Set two opens in the murky depths of Mike's flanger; an expected but wonderful "Down With Disease." Interpret the lyrics however you want nowadays. The vaccine has been created! This leads to a happy "Simple" until it doesn't. The band gets dark. "Disease -> Simple" becomes the most experimental 30 minutes of the show. Life hasn't been so simple. The best part of the night leads into the most rocky in my opinion. "Fuego" is a face-melter but this one was a little goofy. For me, "Plasma" was the lowest part of the night but was quickly supplanted by a "Weekapaug Jim." I do love when they sneak-a-paug and the band seems to have a "uh oh we're being silly" expressions on their face. We end the segues with "Rift." "If I Could" caught me by surprise showing up this late in the show but, to me, it worked. "Rise/Come Together" got some hate on twitter but by that time I was feeling the love, which led into a wonderful "Slave" to close it out. Trey says before "Santos" that this is the first time they've played Arkansas and they want to come back. Big shout out to the people of Arkansas. You deserve every show you get.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by schwitze

schwitze First set was average to good, nothing particularly spectacular. The welcome from the crowd when the band stepped onto stage was phenomenal. Second set was a rager. The one-two punch of Disease->Simple took us in some dark and interesting places. Speaking of dark, that Fuego was intense, almost creepy. Would have loved for them to explore the spaces it was going a little more, but I can never complain with a segue into Plasma. The segues for the first half of the set were smooth and buttery. They came out to play for set 2. Of course the Weekapaug Jim was the standout of the set for me. It seemed to come out of nowhere when they went into Weekapaug and just as seamlessley, they segued back into Jim. At this point, I am absolutely in love with this set. The rift was strong, but don't sleep on the If I Could. Great vocal and instrumental interplay between Trey and Page throughout. Solid show, 3.5-4. Would be a clear 4 with a stronger first set.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy

Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy For a tour opener pretty strong show. Alittle rust here and there , but it was a great mix of new and old songs . I'm a pretty big fan of the simple and down with disease in this show for sure, the rift and if I could placement was a bit strange , but all together this show had alot of energy and alot of promise for this tour.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy

Drewthedevilstickinglawnboy For a tour opener pretty strong show. Alittle rust here and there , but it was a great mix of new and old songs . I'm a pretty big fan of the simple and down with disease in this show for sure, the rift and if I could placement was a bit strange , but all together this show had alot of energy and alot of promise for this tour.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by dublindeuce

dublindeuce 17 months after their last live show, Phish is finally back on tour! The band nicely stretched its legs in Arkansas. Notably, this is the first time Phish has played Arkansas. The songs in the first set are well executed, if not a little rusty. Trey nails Limb by Limb in soaring fashion. Wolfman's Brother is the highlight of the set. It has a fantastic, percussive jam that sounds nothing like pre pandemic Phish. . Down with Disease and Simple both clock in at about 15 minutes, and are the most exploratory jams of the night. I particularly like the Simple, which quickly gets weird and interesting. There's a great transition into a dark and gnarly Fuego which features trance inducing Fishman. Just as Plasma seems to take off, Trey opts for Runaway Jim, which contains an adventurous but brief segue into Weekapaug Groove. The set ends with Slave to the Traffic Light, which has a patient and beautiful build. Trey's guitar tone is killer. A very enjoyable tour opener. Let's see what the rest of tour has to offer! Read the book.
, attached to 2021-07-28

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 First show back was promising and quite enjoyable, and i was blessed to be in attendance. Good mix of classics and new stuff too. As expected with a tour opener, execution wasn’t perfect (mainly Fuego lol), but the Disease > Simple combo was incredible. All around very good and i’m excited to see what they’ll do next
, attached to 1997-12-12

Review by RollinInMyGrego

RollinInMyGrego Show #2: I was only 16, but I think at this point I knew I was hooked. This show clearly gets overshadowed by an incredible Fall '97, including the shows the night before and after, but this one is by no means a sleeper. The 2nd set just has an incredible arc, variety and flow. Not my ideal setlist but nearly perfect execution. The contrast between high intensity psychedelic madness of Saw It Again, Piper and Caspian and the serene calming Swept Away > Steep in between is just perfect. Then to finish things off with balls to the wall rocking Izabella > Tweeprise. There are gems scattered throughout the rest of the show--Funky Bitch > 2001 bonkers opener, typical excellent '97 Taste, dark and story Tweezer and a monster 2 song encore--but it's the entire 2nd set that really stands out.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by TheFuckinBook_Man

TheFuckinBook_Man I had a good time. And it ended with me and everyone else having a great time during the Reprise!! That's such a fun song to sing, right?! But, what i've never asked here or on PT or anywhere besides talkin' with my friends and/or people I just met is this: in Guelah Papyrus the first two lines are, "Aboard a craft bereft of oar I rowed upstream to find Lenore" Now, I love Tom Marshall. TM5 in my book. But how the fuck does ya row upstream bereft(meaning without) of an oar?? Answers, please and thanks. See y'all in a few weeks!!
, attached to 2021-07-03

Review by Sniff

Sniff WOW. This was [b]rad[/b]. Seeing Oysterhead live was something I had fantastized about, but never thought would actually happen. 2020 gave me hope for a brief moment, so having the opportunity to se them at Peach still feels surreal. To top it off, the band crushed it... arguably a stronger show than either night in 2020. If you enjoy Oysterhead, or are just curious, check this out.
, attached to 2014-02-14

Review by The__Van

The__Van Ah my first TAB show. TAB at the TAB. I didn't know whether to expect jamming or not but I was dancing all the same when Cayman Review started up. Magilla was a nice nod to TAB's first performance of the song. I remember being really impressed with Trey's solo on Dark and Down. The guy in front of me thought so as well and gave me this look like he'd seen a ghost after it was over. Overall I'd say I liked the first set more than the second but it's a pretty fun show albeit nothing too out there. [b]1st Set Highlights[/b]: Cayman Review, Magilla, Dark and Down [b]2nd Set Highlights[/b]: Sand, Push On 'Til the Day
, attached to 2013-07-13

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish Going back to review my first Phish show 8 years later! This most recent relisten brings back very good memories and also made me think much higher about the quality of this show. I was very inexperienced at the time and most songs went over my head. I still haven't heard destiny unbound since this show :'( and I'm sure many others can share similar experiences. This show doesn't have one huge jam but it does have a nice mix of old and new songs, good setlist flow and solid energy brought by the rain storms. Before the show there was a huge rainbow to the left side of the stage, a sure sign of things to come both in this show and my future Phish adventures. At the time none of this sunk in, but I've come to appreciate it more as I've become more immersed in the band. I actually forgot how crazy the rain was until I read some reviews. It brought back memories of barefoot people eating it on the lawn. One person slide pretty far trying to get down the hill to their group. The lawn was totally wrecked that night haha. People were going nuts during SOAMelt especially during the "plunge below the water line" lyric. I don't remember much from the second set but Trey is on point in a lot of these songs. The DWD, Hood and Paug all have very energetic soloing and the Mike's song gets as gritty as it gets for 2013 Phish. I feel the Paug in particular is an underrated version with a bit more funk from Mike and powerful soloing from Trey. Maybe this is all just nostalgia resulting from my first full year not seeing Phish multiple times since 2013 but can't wait to get back on the road again with a new appreciation.
, attached to 2019-06-19

Review by SplitOpenAndMalt

SplitOpenAndMalt Finally getting around to writing a review for my first show. Prior to going to Blossom this night, I had zero exposure to the genre of 'jam' music whatsoever. No Phish, no Dead, nothing. My buddy invited me a few weeks prior to go with him and his family to the show and I had heard of Phish, so why not? The day of the show I got a call from my girlfriend of 2.5 years ending the relationship pretty unexpectedly. I'd committed to these tickets though and I wasn't going to flake so I begrudgingly fought my instinct and showed up at my buddy's house. As we made the 40 minute drive to Blossom, we talked about everything. His dad is a seasoned vet who has been going to shows since the early '90s and was catching me up on all the terminology and basic etiquette-- no talking during music, make friends on lot, all of the beginner stuff. We show up and my first impression is an absolutely massive Shakedown. I hadn't seen anything like it and knew the environment was different than any live entertainment I'd seen before. The vending and communal sense of acceptance blew me away as I walked past unfamiliar faces and people from different aspects of my life alike. After strolling around and making our purchases, me and my buddy headed to our seats in the pavillion on Mike's side. [b]Set I[/b] opened with a nice Soul Planet. In hindsight, my lack of exposure to Phish or the genre made it difficult for me to differentiate when they were bringing out the 'magic'. After listening to this show on LivePhish 40+ times, though, I'm grateful for an mid-length Type I to start the show. Moma is what got most of the crowd going around me and the dancing really ensued. This was my first exposure to the wonders of what Page McConnell can do. Kill Devil Falls and Your Pet Cat were the first two songs that my buddy didn't inherently recognize due to the (relative) recency of KDF and the lack of play of a lot from Chilling, Thrilling since Halloween. Back on the Train was my highlight of the show at that point-- there was a more mainstream appeal and the funky-bluegrass sound distinguished the song from others; I also think it was the first display of Trey's true vocal work. On the way to the show, my buddy's dad explained the Kasvot Vaxt costume from Halloween to me which I didn't really get (was it a cover or not?) so I thought it was pretty funny that they played one of those songs. After About to Run, Divided Sky was my first Phish 'classic', all unbeknownst to my ignorant self. Upon relistens, I've found the bulk of the jam to be a little technically sloppy compared to other Divided Sky versions, but I will always be grateful for its appearance that night. To be totally honest, though, I Didn't Know was my first REAL introduction to Phish-- who the HELL is John Sullen Melancholy and why is he playing a vacuum on stage? And why is everybody going nuts? A nice Walls of the Cave took us to what I thought was the end of the show. Wait, these guys play two sets for THAT long? Set break we went and caught up with my buddy's parents and saw a couple more extended friends out on the lawn with them. Got a little more spun and headed back down to our seats and I wasn't quite sure how a band could play THAT much improvisational music for a second set. I was in for a treat. [b]Set II[/b] I was a little underwhelmed by Stealing Time From the Faulty Plan. At that point, it was because of the lyrics. Now, it's because I don't think it set the proper stage for the upcoming set with a low-key jam warmup. Obviously, the 20+ Birds of a Feather is the peak of the show. This was my exposure to what true chemistry can do to a band-- all four guys continued to feed off each other's energy and providing each the opportunity to take over the jam in a seemingly unending cycle of free-flowing creativity. I STILL listen to this version and am impressed and have yet to come across another BOAF that's quite as impressive and funky (but I'd love any show recs to prove myself wrong). I couldn't even tell when the band changed to Crazy Sometimes but I think it was a great follow-up from the extended jam that maintained the feel of the show. The tempo rested up with Miss You (I'm sure they were probably GASSED at this point) before Everything's Right ramped it back up seamlessly transition into an overly aggressive start CDT that mellows out as Trey takes over succeeding the vocal selection. The set ends with a high-energy Slave and everyone's face is properly melted by the completeness of the entire set. We met up with my buddy's parents prior to the SOAM encore that was just on brand with the entire second set. They found their rhythm immediately after coming back out and jammed out the version for nearly fifteen minutes before making a debut of another song???? Kind of an unheard of and unbelievable introduction to the band. We headed back out to the lot and ate some hummus and met some of our car neighbors before leaving the show. I gotta admit, I had LOVED the environment but hadn't exactly caught the bug for the music yet. There was something about being there, though, that made me forget about reality for a little bit, let alone the fact that my relationship had just ended, and all I was thinking about was being there. That feeling didn't exactly leave. About a year later, all I could listen to was this show. I'd scanned my ticket and listened on the LivePhish app on repeat before buying tickets to Summer 2020. The pandemic hit--Then I started chugging through all of the free featured shows, then the DaaM streams, and eventually downloaded Relisten to listen to 2-3 shows a DAY. Fastforward to now, I'm reviewing this as I get excited for a Indy>Hershey>AC run (my second show) before hitting Vegas which will bring me to double digits. The band instrumentally changed my life: this show introduced me to my happy music, my sad music, my everything music. I cannot imagine how different my taste in music would be without that introduction. Regardless of what happens in the rest of my Phishtory, this show will always be 'my' show. 5/5 because I'm a sucker for nostalgia.
, attached to 1994-06-18

Review by Xpanding_Man

Xpanding_Man The week this came out in Summer 2012, the band was doing a live stream from somewhere and they were having an average night by 2012 standards (which places it below average in the overarch of their careers obviously, but an average night of Phish in 2012 is still one of the best places to be on the planet). Right after the first set, an advertisement for this box set came on, and threw the preceding set of music into very sharp relief. It's just not a fair comparison - a run-of-the-mill show in 2012 against this monster? No contest. The first set is no slouch, but the second set...possibly a top 20 set from them. Highlights abound, from the Peaches > MLB jam > Bowie through Tweezer and YEM, but this is a show/set that needs to be appreciated AS A WHOLE, as it is greater than the proverbial sum of its parts. Careful playing this after a phish show this summer; it might bum you out just a bit :) 1994!!!
, attached to 1988-09-12

Review by mancubism

mancubism Sound quality’s not too good, but Shaggy Dog is such a great tune. It gets my vote for the next big bust out of 2021 - throw it in the first set Nellie Kane slot. A Train & Satin Doll - lots more jazz in 88, Page reigns supreme. Bold as Love - Trey is playing a musical saw with a lightsaber theremin by the end of the song, I am pretty sure. Timber SHREDS to start the 2nd set - bonus verse in there too! TMWSIY>Avenu>Bundle>Camel Walk is an interesting idea, but clunky. Your ears want Arrival but you Walk instead - at least the walk is funky. The Practical Song - a prescient little ditty about toilet paper shortage 32 years before covid - these guys were way ahead of their time. A Hood that is both spacey & spirited and an uplifting Esther (though isn’t Esther always up-lifting?) end our night at Sam’s. I always knew she was a good swimmer.
, attached to 1995-12-15

Review by kevinAreHollo

kevinAreHollo Video of this second set has surfaced (thank you to all my 90s camcorder ninjas out there) and it seems the Gin segment of the show deserves some clarifying. After the noted percussive jamming (Trey on his mini-kit), things dissolve into cacophony and noise until an eventual fade to Page's piano. He solos in the spotlight for quite a while unaccompanied, several minutes. When lights do come up again, Trey and Mike are seated on stools a la Acoustic Army at centerstage. They pick in unison for a bit, and Fishman joins them on vacuum for some moody atmospherics. Kuroda takes the lights down and this time when they come up the rotation has occurred: Trey on drums, Page on the Dragon, Mike on guitar. Fish takes his place at the piano to "sing" Mallory. While I don't find this portion of the show all that interesting (the Jim and Bowie on the other hand...), it's obvious they had a strategy/game plan going in. Successful or not, I feel like it warrants updating the setlist.
, attached to 1996-07-07

Review by mortinni936

mortinni936 Everything worth mentioning about this show has been outlined by The_Ghost. BUT, I would like to agree that this Tweezer is indeed different and very awesome. The intensity builds until everything is swelling with tone and power. Definitely a stand out from these first couple of dates in Europe and I was honestly surprised to not see it as a Jam Chart version. This Tweezer deserves a listen if nothing else.
, attached to 1997-07-29

Review by Abe_Froman

Abe_Froman It feels like the reviews and the ratings for this show don’t jive. I loved this show, if I could do 4.5 stars, I would. Gumbo, that Antelope, Twist, a Squirming Coil with hands down one of the best Page solos I’ve heard, and they weren’t in any hurry to leave in the encore. Glad they’re coming back to Phoenix in 2021.
, attached to 2011-08-08

Review by TheFuckinBook_Man

TheFuckinBook_Man This event was a life changer! And it had NOTHING to do with the music from the show!! Not a note! At set break the fans who attend shows clean and sober, some folks who do this are called The Phellowship (there's a table usually near the Waterwheel table with that name, The Phellowship, printed on a table cloth), meet up at the table for a basic AA type meeting. If you've never been you're lucky, but you've prob seen one depicted in TV/movies, so yeah there's a meeting and you can share about whatever you want for a minute or two. There was a crowd of about 50 people, which was a lot to me since it was my first Phellowship meeting and didn't know anyone went to a show/church/hockey games/life completely clean/sober. But what was astounding to me was at the end of the meeting. We all circled up and held hands to say the 3 lined sign off that typically ends an AA meeting. "i'm good enough, i'm sma- " jk they say the Serenity Prayer: "God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, The courage to change the things I can, And the wisdom to know the difference." But what the fuck happened?? You must be askin', hopin' reading this was the least bit worth your time. Here's somethin you can take from reading this if my own tale doesn't suffice- the Serenity Prayer was not started by AA. It was first written by the theologian, Reinhold Niebuhr in 1932- three years before AA started. OK back to the show! The Phellowships Serenity Prayer started like this: "Dude, grant me the serenity... "[b][i]DUDE...[/i][/b]"?? This one word difference, after having gone to hundreds of meetings and hearing about God, changed and strengthened my personal ability to have, cultivate, and engage with a higher power. I had an epiphany, a moment of clarity (even though I'd been clean & sober for 11 months at this time), and [i]even[/i] what I'd deem the closest feeling I've had to experiencing a miracle. All because of the word "dude" lol. It was weird to me, too. The very best weird ever. I didn't enjoy much of the show- I probably should have gone with someone who had more clean/sober time- but I did enjoy bumming a cig to the actress Alexis Knapp and her just as astounding friend, Krystal M. Harris. We talked for awhile. This was before she was in Pitch Perfect or Project X- but at the time I had just been cast playing William Shakespeare in an interesting play about him having writers block, then falling thru time to a present day bar where Hamlet, MacBeth, King Lear, and eventually Mercutio are sitting around lamenting the fact that they are killed nightly in every production of their respective plays. In fact, they're mad at me, Will. Anyways, that went well even if no one saw it cuz it's hard to get an audience in LA for a play. But, I got to discuss acting with a couple actors at a phish show moments after having my brain straightened further, directing it down the correct straight and narrow plain of sobriety, for me. I will admit that Alexis Knapp is a good looking woman. But talking with her at my first sober show was altogether buzz'zedding! I strode the fuck away from that conversation like a collector of VHS leaving a Back To The Future machine. You've not seen those machines. Haha then Fishman said somethin' about his routine bein' like a talent show and he then played that broken wheel supermarket cart drumbeat (very hard to play/deal with) real well, only messing the lyrics up once, and only slightly. And that first set Melt was especially jonky- it got me amazed. Then that X-eyed was faster'n hell and full of fun. Piper was too. I love Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan, so the encore was great. This song is as weird and wonderful as many of their classic straighforward songs, and the fact it was written in 2004, but included on Joy, the sober soldier album, gives the song an air of 360 degree meaning... I've since hit up many Phellowship meetings. They're great. I know they have a facebook page if you need any help. Or just hit me up on here.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode